Knit one, purl two

When I’m taking a break from being a fledgling linguist, I dabble in far too many hobbies, including knitting. I just ran across one of the most unique knitting patterns I’ve seen in quite a while: a knitted inuksuk! An inuksuk (pl. inuksuit) is a stone marker used by various Inuit peoples. They’re not a common symbol in Alaska (where I do my work) like they are in Canada, but anyway, I thought it was a creative way to incorporate an important aspect of an indigenous culture into another art form with centuries of tradition.

This post brought to you by the word qiḷaun ‘knitting needle’ (Iñupiaq) and the phoneme [ʁ].

Leave a Reply

